Troika Statement

December 7, 2016

For Immediate Release

Joint Statement on Political Detentions and Newspapers’ Censorship

The members of the Troika (Norway, the United Kingdom and the United States), the European Union (the EU, France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Romania, Spain, Sweden and the UK), and Canada are concerned about the detention, apparently without charge, of a number of political leaders either in anticipation of protests or having protested government economic moves.

We are also aware of Sudanese authorities seizing newspapers and engaging in other forms of censorship, allegedly for reporting on expression of political views.

The arrest of political leaders for non-violent dissent risks hindering efforts for an inclusive National Dialogue that involves all the relevant political forces in Sudan in line with the African Union Roadmap, which we all support.

We call on the Sudanese authorities to allow the people to exercise their right to freedom of expression. At the same time, we urge those exercising their fundamental rights to express their opinions peacefully.